Shower Time

Image
Well, tomorrow is a big day! I have been planning a baby shower for my girl friend who is due any moment now.  The shower will be an intimate brunch tomorrow morning.  Actually, this will be her 2nd shower in 2 years… that’s right friends, any given day now, she will have had 2 babes in 2 years.  And she is the one of two girl friends who have had 2 babies in the past 2 years… so that makes 4…and to give you a grand total..  9 babies have been born to my dear friends while we have been trying to have just One sweet baby in the past 3 years.. could we just squeeze one blessing for little ol’ me please?

Anyway, it took me a while to gather up the courage to put together this shower.  She is a very good friend of mine and I really am happy for her.  But I will have to endure 2 hours of baby talk, sharing baby pictures and such.  I am sure I will be ok as will I drown myself in a chocolate chip muffin and virgin mimosa (perhaps I can sneak a tiny bottle of champagne in my purse?).

Other hopeful-moms can relate to the mixed bag of emotions that baby showers can bring, right?  We love our friends and we can’t wait to hold their brand new bundle of joy.. but at the same time we can only hope one day we will be the guest of honor at the next baby shower.

You know that awful game we play at weddings, where the bride turns her back to a crowd of single gals and throws her bouquet as far as she can…only to have the strongest the strongest and most aggressive lady pushing over the flower girls to catch it!  Vice versa with the men…only, they are a little more reluctant to catch the bride’s garter belt.  Yes, we’ve all seen it 😉  Well, supposedly, the lucky couple would be the next to marry, right?

Hmmmmmm…. baby shower game scheme brewing in my head.  I think if I can get my lovely mom-to-be to throw one of these ducks and me, being semi-aggressive (could it be the hormones?), catch the duck… I think I’m on to something here!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

