Live In The Present

I drive my son to school at 6:30am every morning.. why does high school have to start so early??  On a typical morning, I get up about 5:30, eyes half-closed, take a quick shower, attempt to make decent-tasting coffee and my son comes downstairs to meet me.. OR.. I realize he’s still asleep and I yell at him to wake up, hurry up, brush his teeth while he’s upset that his alarm clock “didn’t work”. He’s throwing clothes all over the place, I’m yelling at him to stop making a mess… We are both NOT morning people.

This morning surprisingly went pretty smoothly, and on the way to school, we had a conversation about his future (he’s a freshman).  I asked, “what do you want to be when you grow up?” and he said, “I wanted to be an air pilot but I don’t know.  I’ve learned to stop wanting to grow up so fast.”  A little taken aback, I said, “what do you mean?” and he replied, “I want to live in the present because the present will become the past and you can’t change the past.”  YES, I kid you not, this came out of my 15-year-old’s mouth at 6:50am.

The Persistence of Memory – Salvador Dali
Though I’m not an Art Major,… that little branch holding that clock is about to break off!

So in thinking about this, I’m asking myself how I have lived 2012?  I’ve been so stressed about about trying to make a baby, my older children leaving, my finances, now my husband’s job… and I have not lived in the present.  I’ve lived in a muck, and I can’t change that.  I want to do as my child has recommended: Live in the Present

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

