Why My Husband Shouldn’t Send Me Furniture Shopping

Here’s the 4-1-1: I bought a condo in 2005, JUST RIGHT before the real estate market started going downhill.  At that time, my boys were smaller, we had small furniture, small toys, small everything.  It was just right…

Since then, they’ve grown, I met my loving, patient hubby (more on that later) and everything is now king-sized in the still tiny 2 bedroom condo.  Well, since we are unable to sell this hole-in-the-wall, we are stuck here trying to maintain a decent looking household and not look too crammed in.

Sooo… my hubby sent me out on an errand.. “Let’s get a Sectional Couch,” he says. Woo hoo, I’m excited and I find a great deal through Craigslist.  While he takes the younger son to football practice, he sends me on my way to check out the couch… here’s where it all goes wrong.

We do the right thing and measure the wall by the window (the one closest to the door): 6 feet.  Fabulous! In lady-terms, that’s one foot taller than me.  Shouldn’t be hard to measure when I get there….

So, I get there, and use my awesome measurement technique, and I buy it on the spot!  (He said if it looks good, go ahead and buy it).. see how I’m transferring the blame here?

Well, on Tuesday he went to pick it up, brought it in the house, and sent me this picture… See the black shelf to the right of the picture?  Well that is the Entertainment Center that already sticks out because we moved it to fit in the sectional.  And now both the couch and entertainment center do not fit entirely in the living room!  However, there is just enough space to walk in.  Hey… once you get in, the couch is pretty comfy!

Leave a Reply

