I Am A Size 0

image

Yep, I am a size 0, an XS size, and I weigh 98 lbs… Well, that’s how I feel. That’s how I WAS 17 years ago in high school while I was involved in Dance Team and Ju Jitsu and my metabolism was as high as I could kick. I loved my body and my body loved me!! I hung on to a lot of old clothes through the years, some still fit (the stretchy ones) and some I promised myself I would someday fit into.Β  Some items in my closet I am guilty of purchasing recently because (a) it was super Cute and I Had To Have It and (b) what, I AM an Extra Small! (Shopping Partner Politely Nods Head)
Well my last shopping excursion was definitely a wake up call.. or a wake up buzzer alarm. I found the most adorable blouse! What a great find, it was peach, had tiny flowers on it, cinched at the waist and it came with loops to hold a little belt. I had to get it! So my first Red Flag should have stopped the purchase: I get to the counter and mention the little belt loops. I asked if the blouse came with a belt. The salesperson quickly found 2 belts for me to try on… The ends on the first one did not even meet in the front. The quick-mannered saleslady did not hesitate to say, ‘take both,’ to spare me the potential embarrassment of trying on the second belt. I think What a Steal! I got a free belt out of the deal! (Although we all now know I will never be able to wear one of them). Well, excited to show my husband my new blouse I hurriedly head home and try it on for him… So I unzipped the entire side (which ends about 2 inches from the hem) raise my hands up to slide it on only to find out I can’t seem to get it past my shoulders! So I call in for back up, hubby kindly assists in what becomes a struggle between ‘man’ and fabric: suck it in, breath, turn, wiggle, suck it in, jump, turn… About 5 minutes later its on! Sadly realizing I couldn’t even zip the zipper past my ribcage, I easily peel it off (why is it always easier to peel off?) And I return it a week later along with my 2 free belts.
I’ll spare you the ‘Blue Dress That Ripped Before The Family Reunion’ and the ‘Bucs Shirt I Ordered Online & Swore I Would Fit Into’ stories.. because they both did not end well (and there many more).. but its time to start realizing that no matter how much I diet and exercise, I will NEVER be a size 0… Ever. So whoever wants to join my club, we can raise up our Skinny Girl Martini’s and toast to the inventor of Spanx and Trendy Tops… Cheers!

7 Comments

  1. I’m joining your club! I went into a maternity top today, tried on atop that was on sale for shits and giggles. It was that dressy t-shirt material, the kind that shows every lump. It looked great with the fake belly on. The sales lady said I may want to up a size because she could see my back (fat). I told her: this is the way I’m made, I come with back fat.

Leave a Reply

