New Friend-Date

I was at Target a couple weeks ago and picked up a book called MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche.  Turns out, she’s a fellow WordPress blogger (http://mwfseekingbff.com , I’m not sure yet how to add a link to my post). I was looking for a good lunch-break book and got some great suggestions (thanks IVF Male for suggesting Game of Thrones, still need to look it up!).  With the colorful polka-dots and catchy title, it was an instant buy. Like the cover, it’s a fun-read about a newly-married gal who moved to a new city and started looking for a new BFF.  I can totally relate in the sense that some of my closest friends live in different states and I have been on a search (or more like, on a hunt) for new BFFs.  Ladies, is it just me, or is friend-making in our 20’s & 30’s a little more difficult and/or complicated than passing notes in High School?  I find, especially in this state, that it is very rare to meet a native Floridian as much as it is hard to build a friendship before my new buddy has to move away.  So it can be complicated, yet I am thankful I’ve made a few fabulous friendships along the way.

That being said, yesterday I went on my first “blind” friend-date.  Let me give you some history.  Back in July, the boys were spending time with their family on the West Coast.  Hubby and I were like honey-mooners for a month! We went on this pub-crawl and met some other fun couples during the event.  No surprise, I had a few (or several) glasses of wine and I was a blabbering fool.

Can you guess who these ladies are dressed up as?? 

You will see ANYONE at a Pub Crawl!

Well, the next morning, I woke up to drunk text messages.. to another lady!  According to my husband I instantly connected with someone.  I don’t even remember how I we exchanged phone numbers.  Nooo… I’m not leaning that way, I am still a faithful, loving wife to my husband.  These text messages were like, “My son’s name is the same as your husband’s!” and, “let’s get the kids together sometime!” Yes, we shared drunken-lets-be-friends text messages.  And funny thing, we have stayed in touch ever since.

So, a couple days ago, she sent me a text message that she was going to take her daughter to a Fall Festival, and we decided to meet up!  Can you imagine my anxiety?  That morning, I kept thinking, “will she like sober-me?” I can’t remember what drunk-me was like… I’m a little reserved at first and drunk-me is much more outgoing!  I was excited but a bit nervous.

As it turned out, my new friend is a little more reserved too! Not so much that we didn’t have good conversation, but we had a great time.  We had plenty to talk about and the kids were shyer than us adults.

Back to the book I’m reading, one of the author’s latest posts reads, “It’s not that your new potential friend doesn’t want to have a friend date with you. It’s that everyone is waiting for someone else to make the move. To do the work. To take a chance.” (From her post on Friending the Only Thing You Need to Know, Oct 29).
Even us introverts have to take a step once in a while… and, when all else fails, there’s nothing like a little liquid courage 😉 Kidding, of course

6 Comments

  1. Might as well face it, you’re addicted to love…

    Did I get the costume right? Glad you made a new friend. It’s damn hard as we get older, especially when everyone is busy with stuff called life. Kids activities are a huge way to meet other moms but it still isn’t easy… Good for you!

  2. It really is hard as you get older! For me it is mostly that I am still in a different stage of life than most women my age… single again and no kids doesn’t make for to interesting a conversation! Most women my age are looking for play date mommy’s who have children the same age as theirs! I just recently moved back up to upstate NY but its still an hour from where I lived for almost 8 years. I thought to myself well an hour is better than 13-14 hours away! In this busy life though it still seems like eternity away when you are looking for a friend to have lunch with before work and share your day with! I also think that at this age we have been jaded by friends in different ways we are afraid of making the effort only to have them not return it with the same fervor! I know I haven’t always been the best friend a girl could have but I have definitely put a lot of effort into different relationships only to have nothing returned or the person walk out of my life with no understanding or explanation.. I keep praying God will bring me a BFF closer so that I can have that relationship that helps get you through the monotony of the work weeks! Thanks for writing about this! Hope you and your new friend become fast BFF’s!! =)

Leave a Reply

