Glitches

The thing about glitches is that they push you back farther, and the more glitches, the farther back you go….  For this reason, this post has been saved in the ‘Drafts’ folder for a week.

I’m good at a lot of things: Organizing, Shopping, Party-Planning… but I am terrible, pitiful when it comes to dealing with change.  My reaction always goes like this:

Step 1: I receive news of change. Fight or flight…. Fight! I’m ready, bring it on!

Step 2: I prepare. I have my to-do lists ready, new processes in place

Step 3: Oh my goodness, this is not how I thought it would be! I want out NOW!

Step 3 (Cont’d): <<BSHHHHHHH>> (This is where the connection cuts off, usually followed by short flashes of consciousness)

Step 4: Ok, I got myself into this mess, I need to deal with it.

Step 5: Put new processes into place, re-work my To-Do list

Step 6: All is back in order, once again.

This reaction is not exclusive to bad news…. I begged and begged for a kitten last year (to keep my then 6-year-old cat company). And when hubby finally gave in, he brought home TWO.

Step 1: YAYYYY How Cute and Cuddly!
Step 2: Off to the store to get all their necessities.. litter, kitten food etc. Still excited!
Step 3: Hold on, they keep jumping on the counters, oh no they’re tearing up the the speakers! Vet bill costs what?!?
Step 4: Hmm..Let’s ‘google’ how to train kittens. Why didn’t I think of this sooner?
Step 5: They stopped jumping on the couch, this is a good start
Step 6: Ok, I think I handle this, we can keep them!

Now that I’ve detailed my reaction to change, I hope you can understand why I haven’t been online in a few weeks when I explain that a month ago, our assistant quit.  Which was traumatizing to us because (a) we LOVED her, she was awesome from day one … and… (b) the day she gave her notice was her last day.  To look at it objectively, she got an amazing offer with the state so I can’t be mad at her…. but REALLY??  There was Zero preparation time.  Then a couple weeks ago, our boss took a personal leave.  In her case, she gave us a few days notice but STILL, not enough time to prepare! On top of that, my cell phone died!

I’ve had about a week to recoup from the catastrophe of November and am EXCITEDLY looking forward to a few days of fun and (hopefully) relaxing vacation.  Hope everyone in the blog-world enjoys the upcoming week and holiday! 🙂

6 Comments

  1. Oh – we all have times like that. Sometimes change is good. Sometimes it bites the big one. So you roll. And you adjust. And you do the best you can, hope it doesn’t all fall apart and breathe a sigh of relief when you realized you made. It may not be perfect, but you’re going to be alright.

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. It never rains… but the truth is that when it only comes in droplets we don’t notice the gentle drops resting on our eyelashes, it’s only when it comes torrenting down, soaking us from head to foot that we notice the sum total of the little things. And that’s when we get motivated to change, get moving. Rain makes things grow. Rain makes people grow. Good luck with all your changes. You’ll see, you’ll bloom.

Leave a Reply

