10 Days of Thanksgiving

If you’re on a social network I’m sure you have been bombarded with “30 Days of Thanksgiving” daily posts.  I tried it one year and by Day 10 I ran out of things to write.

My only Thanksgiving “status” of the month went like this:

“This year, hands down, has been one of the hardest for me. That being said, I’m thankful for reliable transportation, food on the table, a roof over my head, friends and family, and WINE”

In which I got several “Lol’s”, responses of agreement, and some dear friends who suggested I go back and count my blessings.  Without boring you to death about the basics (Water, Electricity, Technology. Highly grateful for, by the way) here is my 10-Days-of-Thanksgiving wrapped up into one post.  Note: You can probably skip through the top half of my list, as these are the necessities I’m sure we are all truly thankful for.

I’m Thankful For…

Day 1: My family. Without these people who have no choice but to deal with me day in and day out, I think I would be one lonely person.

Day 2: Friends. When my family gets tired of me, or vice versa, I can always turn to Happy Hour, spa day, and 2-hour phone chats.

Day 3: Job. A source of income. Food on the table. Health benefits. And an outlet for all my Excel spreadsheet ideas.

Day 4: A Home. We have lived here for several years now.  It was built in 1985, it’s a nice well-kept neighborhood and I like my neighbors.

Day 5: Faith. I try not to be preachy, I am far from a saint, but I am a Christian sometimes I go back and forth on things but the verses I have memorized through the years have kept me going. Even if you’re not a Christian some of the most inspiring quotes and poems are in the Bible.

Day 6: Florida. The sun, the beach, the football, and the ability to look from your far right to your far left and see nothing but blue sky and splashes of clouds painted across it.  Nothing like it.

Day 7: Food. Not talking about basic staples, which I am also thankful for.  I love to cook because I love to eat.  Some express themselves through dance, painting, etc.  I express myself through cooking. My kitchen is my sanctuary.

Day 8: Blog-World. I’m not just saying this because I’m posting on my blog. Seriously, at the starting-point I was one foot over the cliff into Crazy Town.  Fertility issues, “pre”-empty nest syndrome, and loss of an income in the household. The blog-world allows you to connect with people who can relate to you, and you can still go out and smile at the world.  Really, you brought me back to life… ok, enough mushiness, moving on…

Day 9: Coupons. Did I just say that? Yep.  This year, I have saved over $4,000 in grocery and household item bills.  Granted, I was one of the people who went into Target to buy one thing and came out with a cart load of non-essentials.  My trips to the store now have purpose and we use what I buy (with the exception of bird seed)

Day 10: Special Days. I aim to live life to the fullest, however, I often get caught in the whirlwind of schedules and errands. Something about holidays, birthdays, and anniversaries brings people together.  Plus I love to decorate the house!

Well, there are my 10 Days of Thanksgiving!

Bon Appetit!

3 Comments

  1. Me likey! I focused on #3 at first, because just today one of my nephews asked me, “Do YOU have a job?” –

    I’m a substitute teacher.

    I explained my sitch to him…but in MY MIND…I don’t have a job because it’s not steady money and I’ve been struggling HARD CORE or over a year. But thanks for your reminder post and I might just copy this (and modify it of course). 🙂

  2. LOLz. I’m right there with you. I stopped after 14 days because I felt like I was bragging. I am grateful. But there’s a lot going on with other people in my life and it seemed weird. So I am trying to show gratitude to those I appreciate instead of posting. Grateful to connect with you!! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

