Holidays and the Sports Fanatic’s Wife

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that I am a Sports Fanatic’s wife.  No, he doesn’t paint his face and scream at opponents’ fans as they pass us in the stands.  But he wakes up and goes to sleep to the lullaby horns of Sports Center on ESPN.  One day, he frantically looked through the house for a “Let’s Go Bucs” light that flashes like a stop-light because “WE need it so the Bucs will win.”  Most recently, I watched the start of a game in which I left to run errands as they were leading 10-0 and upon my return they were down by two touchdowns… as soon as I sat down they made a touchdown and my husband would not let me leave the couch until the last second of the game because “the Bucs played better when I was watching them.”   They did end up winning that game, by the way 😉

Now, I’m not one to complain.  I enjoy watching the games myself.  Having a teenage football player of my own, I am known to yell and jump a little when the games get interesting.

Another thing about this guy is that he needs a little nudge to get into the holiday spirit.

So this, my friends, is how I got my husband to pose with me and Santa for one Christmas picture:

Our Picture With Santa

Our Picture With Santa

Notice, Santa must be a Bucs fan too.

We also have a tradition in which we each put up one ornament every day from the day after Thanksgiving until the tree is fully decorated… hubby’s first ornament, can you see it?  You may have to squint…

Our Tree 2012

The good thing is that while football is an integral part of our family-life, we have learned to incorporate it into the holidays, which I SO love!

Now, excuse me as I see him turn on the “let’s go Bucs” light and I am now needed to watch this game so they can win.

On a side-note: GO SEAHAWKS!!!!! They just won in over-time, they are my home team, after all. 🙂

8 Comments

  1. That’s so funny! I’m from Chicago and was complaining with my brother from another mother about the Bears’ serious choke.

    I’m also married to a sports nut. His nuttiness also rubbed off on me. It turned out his favorite football team was almost a contender for the Russell Athletic Bowl in Orlando at the end of this month and I was contemplating getting him a ticket and doing a day alone with Kiddo. He has me trained to think that is OK! LOL!

  2. My husband is a huge sports fanatic. We have been married for 7 years and this weekend was the first time he has helped me decorate the house and tree for Christmas – because some other games were on or something. He was crazy. But I think he backed off a little – there was no way I was accepting that this year – especially with the kids getting older.

    He sounds like he may be a little more of a fanatic than your husband. Scary.

    Kiran

Leave a Reply

