Firsts

On my way to work this morning, I was in a pre-coffee daze… Not sure if it was a song or a radio deejay, but something got me thinking about “Firsts”.

I’m in my mid-30’s, my skin is not as fresh-looking as it used to be – I’ve started to wear a bit of foundation… my morning and evening routines include about a sitcom’s time to apply the various creams and lotions from head to toes.  Coffee used to be a morning perk-me-up, but has become a “do-not-talk-to-me-before-I-have”… What I’m saying is, firsts are for the younger folk, right???

Obviously, I’ve had my first step, I’m sure it was AMAZING.

I’ve had my first kiss… my first almost-kiss was in the back some folded lunch tables and all my friends gathered around us to witness the event.. but I chickened-out (stage fright?) and ran away… my first kiss was spur of the moment, in the hallway between classes in middle school. Still awkward, but I’ll never forget it.

My first job = McDonalds. I smelled like grease every evening but I had first dibs on the selection of Happy Meal Toys.

But, as time allowed (my commute to work is about 45 min), I started thinking outside the box .. I’ve had some firsts as recent as this year.  My husband and I recently purchased our first bed together – our first big furniture purchase.  I attempted to bake a cake from scratch this year.

We went on a road trip this year – it was my first time taking a trip via “Megabus”.  It was definitely an experience to remember.

Image

Megabus Tip #1: Bring a Blanket!

Our Megabus trip brought us to New Orleans – another first!

Image

These Masks were beautiful, ornate… and inexpensive!

Image

One of many sights to see on the infamous Bourbon Street. Don’t be fooled – she worked that pole better than I could ever attempt!

I’m sure there’s more… but I’m only midway through my first cup of coffee this morning 🙂

That being said – I’m adding a task to my “Empty Nester Bucket List”: Make 2014 a Year of Firsts!  Won’t you add this to your list?  I’d love to know ….What firsts have you experienced recently?

~1Suburbanchic

Leave a Reply

