No Coffee – Day 3

So, I failed to mention that during our Final IVF Consultation the doctor noticed that I was holding a cup of “coffee” I poured myself in the lobby.  She asked me if I noticed….. and I quickly blurted “that it’s decaf??” So she went into this micro-speech about how they advise us to stay away from caffeine.. blah, blah BLAHHHH. (this is my un-caffeinated self talking right now).  So, hubby quickly jumped on this bandwagon of misery and advised that I stick to decaf.

Day 1: AWFUL. Worst headache ever. I can’t believe I have become so addicted to coffee/caffeine. I ate more/drank more water, and ended up taking a couple Tylenol and slept the headache away. Sounds pitiful, doesn’t it?

I recall someone sending me an article once saying that there is No Such Thing as a Caffeine Addiction, to them I say – tell that to my migraine!

Day 2: OK. I had decaf. Head hurts a bit, dragging a little.  But I was ok.  My husband sent me links like this:

http://thestir.cafemom.com/food_party/163459/6_things_only_a_coffee

Which cracked me up. She gets me!

Day 3: Today. I woke up knowing I was’t going to have coffee. I’m having water… lots and lots of water. Good so far and glad I’m sitting next to the restroom.

Any other coffee addicts out there?  Do I REALLY need to quit caffeine cold turkey?

10 Comments

  1. I have been weaning myself for the last year. Yes, year. I went from several cups a day down to just one cup a day, which I stuck to for a long time. About a month before I started IVF I weaned myself to a half cup and when I started stims I went to a cup of green tea. I now quit the green tea, but I’ve heard many say a cup a day won’t hurt anything. Still, I didn’t want to risk it. Good luck!!

  2. During this process yes its better to quit caffeine cold. I did it last year and completely understand what you are going thru but the headaches will disappear and you will feel back to normal with in a week or so 🙂 Good Luck on your journey!

  3. Oh it is so hard. I gave it up for a while and the migraines were relentless. I drink diet root beer to avoid the caffeine and still feel like I’m having pop. It’s a tease though compared to the real thing. Good luck and I hope all the yucky feelings subside quickly.

Leave a Reply

